How to Delete Multiple Messages on Messenger

How to Delete Multiple Messages on Messenger
5 min read
18 November 2022

If you are a regular user of Facebook Messenger, you will know that Facebook doesn’t make deleting conversations a primary part of its messaging options. They just naturally slide to the bottom as chats stop, and the built-in delete function is painfully slow. Luckily, there are some browser extensions that can help you bulk-delete messages from Facebook Messenger.

Do You Really Want to Delete These Messages?

If your main goal is just to make sure no one who gets access to your Facebook can pry into your message history, complete deletion is definitely the best option. However, if you’re just looking to clear up your cluttered inbox, you may want to consider the “Archive” option. On PC, hover your mouse cursor over the chat in question, click the three dots that appear, then select “Archive.”

You’ll have to long press on the message to bring up this option on a mobile device. This moves the chat to a separate folder where your old messages can live, safely tucked away from your new ones.

Also, read: How To Bypass Failed, Virus Detected Message

Extensions for Web Browser

Extensions become a part of your web browser and allow you to perform various functions on a website. To delete multiple or all of your Facebook message history, you will need to add an extension to your web browser. Whether it’s Chrome, Firefox, or Internet Explorer you can begin by using Google to pull up the Web Store.

Using Chrome, Google “Facebook Messenger mass delete extension” or something of that nature. You will see one of the top options is chrome.google.com. This is the web store for that browser.

Once you’ve clicked “Install” you will be prompted through various pop-ups until that extension is added. You will see the icon in the upper right-hand corner of your browser.

Fast Delete Facebook™ Messages

Log into your Facebook account on your browser after installing the extension. Click on the Extension icon on the extension bar. It should have a Facebook Messenger logo and a red X on top.

After that, it’s as easy as following the on-screen instructions.

  • Click the “Open Your Messages” button when it appears.
  • Click the new button
  • Begin Deletion, once it appears.
  • Select OK to confirm your action
  • This should automatically take care of all the messages in your inbox. If it doesn’t, it helps if you refresh the page and repeat the process. If you have too many conversations, it may not remove them all at one time so repeat the process.
  • Once you have deleted your Facebook Message history from a web browser you will NOT be able to retrieve those unless you have them backed up somewhere else. Android for example allows users to backup Facebook messages to the ES File Explorer.

Also, read: How Often Does Google Earth Update

Message Cleaner

This extension works best if you first scroll down to the very bottom of the message list. Once you load the extension, it will recognize all the messages as being selected for removal. You can also then pick individual messages that you may want to save.

Both extensions allow you to select multiple messages from different conversations and delete them all at once. However, you still have to select the ones that you want to delete. There isn’t a button or feature that creates an automated selection of all messages.

These extensions will permanently delete all of your Facebook messages if you’ve not backed them up. Assuming you selected “all” before clicking “confirm,” the only way to get those messages back is to ask the person who you sent them to for help or using data recovery methods to retrieve backed up information.

Also, read: How To Exit Full-Screen Mode On Chrome

Deleted Messages Recovery

You can only recover messages that were saved in a backup file. For iPhone users a recovery from iCloud may bring those messages back. For Android users they may be saved in your system’s ES File Explorer.

When you’re using Facebook Messenger on an Android smartphone or tablet, all the conversations may be saved on your device. Just because you’re ‘deleting them’ in the messenger doesn’t mean they’re gone.

Also, read: Your Organization Data cannot be pasted here

In case you have found a mistake in the text, please send a message to the author by selecting the mistake and pressing Ctrl-Enter.
yuvasri 52
Joined: 1 year ago
Comments (0)

    No comments yet

You must be logged in to comment.

Sign In / Sign Up